Plan of the City 

Plan of the City is an animated film, conceived of and directed by Joshua Frankel. The film is set to a piece of music entitled, Change, written by composer Judd Greenstein and performed by the NOW Ensemble. The film begins in New York City, and takes us on an interplanetary journey. Iconic buildings blast off, travel through space, and land on Mars. The film combines animated photographic and illustrated collage elements with live action footage.  Many of the photographs were taken by the Mars rovers, Spirit and Opportunity, made available to the public domain by the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Plan of the City has been made possible by a generous grant from the New York State Council on the Arts and is the winner of the Arch Film Lund award.

File under

animation, content, film






Directed by Joshua Frankel

Produced by Elissa Federoff

DP by Clayton Combe

Choreography by Will Rawls

Art Direction by Rachel Horlick

Props by Eve Biddle

Edited bu Joshua Frankel & George Westberg

Music composed by Judd Greenstein

Music performed by NOW Ensemble